Putaruru: New Zealand’s Quirky Hidden Gem!

My love for this unusual and largely unknown town in South Waikato

Heather Rosanne Sparks
4 min readJun 26, 2024
Railway tracks! Photo taken by author!

A short drive from where I live lies the quiet and underrated town of Putararu.

Many pass through this place to visit popular locations such as Taupo and it is just a short distance from Hamilton and Rotorua. There are also the stunning blue lakes a short drive away.

Why I love this town

I visit this amazing town around once a month. It has a really nice eatery called The Wooden Farmer that has amazing food, and friendly staff! Even the local customers are friendly when you walk in. It is the perfect place to stop and plan some writing while I wait for my coffee and food.

Coffee and notes at The Wooden Farmer

It is also the perfect place to take photos. You have the slightly older buildings of which some are desolate, to quite modern buildings and shops. I have walked over their railway track a few times, and I am amazed at how pretty it looks. I am not a fan of trains and I have no fascination with train tracks. However, something is alluring about the walkover track at Putararu.

--

--

Heather Rosanne Sparks

Travel writer and lifestyle blogger! Anything that interests me gets written about.